Canadian Indie Week – Taking Submissions NOW

By Tiffy Leeson

So like, I’m in a band:

Indie Week Canada, which boasts having 300 acts take over 20 venues in Canada’s largest city, is now taking submissions for artists to perform at their week-long showcase.

Apply HERE all you amazing musicians. Keep on keepin’ on.

So like, I’m a fan:

For those not familiar, Indie Music Week sprang into action 13 years ago showcasing independent musicians, both Canadian and from abroad, in numerous venues spread across the city of Toronto. After seeing success here with their format, they have expanded to the UK market, establishing Indie Week Europe in 2015.

A large draw for participating bands is the chance to participate in Manchester, England for Indie Music Europe’s Showcase (flights and accommodations included)

Indie Week Canada takes place in November and this year falls between the 15th to 20th.

So like, anyways:

Since the move away of the intimate venue-centric version of NXNE, it will be interesting to see if the independent music festivals such like Indie Music Week will expand and flourish to fill the void that a lot of us so longed for this past year from our city’s most-profiled go-to venue-hopping staple.

Time will have to tell.

In the meantime, check out Indie Week’s socials to see who will be hanging out in Toronto and where you can check them out:

Indie Music Website
Indie Music Week Twitter
Indie Music Week FaceBook
Insta Indie Music Week

Indie Music Week Alumni Include:

The Dearly Bereft – (More to come on these guys in the future)

Sumo Cyco

Walk Off The Earth

WOOHOO!

151 thoughts on “Canadian Indie Week – Taking Submissions NOW

  1. Good morning! Great post @tiffy! Hope you’re feeling better soon!
    How refreshing to be able to apply for something through means other than sonicbids. Not that I have anything against sonicbids per se…
    Mr Lucky took the kids to Wonderland today. The hills are alive with the sound of silence. (Mash-up idea!?)

    Like

  2. Good morning!
    I have often wanted to go to Canadian Indie Music Week in Toronto, now with all the changes to NxNE, it might happen. November or June?

    Like

  3. Ummmmm, those would be spoken or thought.

    I suspect that you would receive a nicely-worded letter stating that at no point had you been authorised to act for or on behalf of, or at the request of, or as an employee of, the CBC.

    A proper kind of letter.

    Like

  4. Krib,
    Yes, I would also go see Ben Caplan if I was in TO.
    I’ll be in Regina that weekend. Will you be at RFF?

    Like

  5. Shon,
    I will be there Saturday and Sunday. Friday, I’ll be in Edmonton, seeing Mary Chapin Carpenter and Jason Isbell at EFF.

    reminds me: I need to message smalliebiggs. He’s going. I may finally meet him

    Like

  6. At the Black Mountain show, I re-met Greg, who used to listen to R3 but stopped when the hosting stopped. Quite the character!
    There was also another R3 shirt there I chatted with for a moment.

    Like

  7. A day in the life of a music librarian: someone just dropped off about 120 CDs in these two really nice canvas carrying bags and said, “I don’t want these. If you don’t put them in the library just give them away.’

    Like

  8. So, I think I’m going back to Merrell bare access, away from the Altras.

    they are nice and cushy, but the heel padding wore out pretty quickly on mine.
    I put on the old Merrells today and they are super nice, and light. Time for a new pair

    Like

  9. If no one goes to NXNE next year, will we still have the picnic that weekend? Probably we should pick something else, like this Indie Week, to do at the same time. But that’s in the fall so maybe some other Toronto event.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I admit, I have not spent any time getting to know the new site. I have not listened to the stR3am. I’m still feeling stung by the dismantling of R3, I guess, and I don’t want to give them my clicks. Those precious, precious clicks are all they seem to care about.

    Like

  11. Helloooo
    And pretty much bye ( ._.)
    Very busy at work today ’cause tomorrow I’m going out of town to cover a film festival. I hope I’ll be able to drop by these days (’cause we can comment from mobile!)

    Take care, kids!

    Like

  12. I share your concern about the picnic, Wesley. We have to keep meeting, even if NXNE turns out to be a gong show. I need my R3 friend fix every summer!

    Like

  13. I got the stR3am on Chrome, but had to wait quite a while for an ad I couldn’t hear. (Mostly because KEXP was on loud.) Then, it finally showed graphically that it had “arrived”. The Zolas were on.

    Back to KEXP.

    Like

  14. that’s a great tumbleweed image, even if we have to click through.

    ya, I mean, it’s no “R3 blog in its hey-day” here yet, but all things start small. I’m determined to support it and the people who help make it happen, because it’s a good thing.

    Like

  15. @Funhug 10:32am, I’m using firefox, I think yours didn’t work because of the “?v=1406838410” at the end because when I removed it the image posted

    Like

  16. We could change that picnic to a different time and/or place. I know how hard it is to get Ontario folk to leave their province though. hehe

    Like

  17. I have to say that when I do listen to the stR3am, I enjoy the music on there. Yamantaka //Sonic Titan on now and I added a song from The Balconies to my playlist.

    Like

  18. @loweeda, I dunno about the blog’s “hey-day”, but I actually like this one better. We can post images and videos! Better blog posts! Lovely font! I can use my FB account! On the other hand, it doesn’t auto-refresh.

    Like

  19. Interstellar Rodeo in Winnipeg would be a great opportunity! There will be a good size prairie R3 contingent and nvp’s wife Liz will be there too. It’s not far from Ontario either. haha

    Like

  20. @wesley: All those things are true! And who am I to assign hey-days, anyway? The hey-day can be anytime. And auto-refresh will come, and THAT’LL be a hey-day, bigtime.

    @darbar: Ontario is pretty great, though–which I wouldn’t have believed until I actually lived in it for awhile.

    Like

  21. @darbar: there are probably Ontarians who feel the same way about Saskatchewan 😉 But then again, look at what @wesley just said!

    (Wes, you should come to Interstellar Rodeo in Winnipeg, Aug. 12-14. That goes for anyone! Prairie R3 folks are pretty awesome)

    Like

  22. @loweeda – But I have made the trip to Ontario. I want people to come our way too.

    Look into it Wes!

    Like

  23. I am remembering a couple Ontarioans that came to the prairies. DawnH made the trip to RFF and was it LauraS that went to Calgary Folk Fest with Cicero? (all the Laura like names get mixed up in my head)

    Like

  24. @darbar: I’ve made the trip to Ontario multiple times, so you’re right–that should be worth a few ON –> Prairie trips for a few people!

    Like

  25. Laurita Snow, yes, went to CGY. 3 years ago, in fact

    she just shared one of those FB memory things recently about it

    Like

  26. @loweeda – Exactly what I am trying to say. We all go to them all the time, they could return the favour once in awhile.

    *people know I am not really mad about it or anything right?

    Like

  27. Seriously this R3 stream is fantastic today! Dearly Beloved rocking it right now after a Pink Mountaintops song. Is it tailored to my tastes? Seems like it.

    Like

  28. @Wesley – Keep Interstellar in mind for next year. We will report back on how it goes this year but I am guessing it will be pretty great. All I did was click the R3 and then a pic showed up with a play button. I have had it where nothing shows up but other than trying a new tab I can’t remember anything in particular that got it working.

    Like

  29. I am on Firefox and it was frustrating to get working at first, but I haven’t had any trouble lately.

    Like

  30. That would probably do it. Yay that it is working! I have Operators now what have you got playing?

    Like

  31. It’s a bit more of a trek and a smaller scale than NxNE but for those of you who liked the club hopping aspect of NxNE, then maybe its worth checking out Halifax Pop Expolosion 22-26 October. They just released the lineup today. Likely some more to be added, as does happen.
    http://www.halifaxpopexplosion.com/

    Round 2 is here! We just added over 50 more acts to the 🔥 #HPX2016 🔥 lineup! Early Bird Wristbands on sale now. Check it all out over on halifaxpopexplosion.com A photo posted by Halifax Pop Explosion (@halifaxpopx) on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:42am PDT

    //platform.instagram.com/en_US/embeds.js

    Like

  32. Hey Shonica and others who were interested in NxNE before the format change, who like the idea of the club hopping festival, it might be worth checking out Halifax Pop Explosion 19-22 October. It’s one of those multi venue fests that would be a fun way for a visitor to check out the city too. It’s a lot like NxNE was in some ways, but on a smaller scale.
    They just released the lineup:
    http://www.halifaxpopexplosion.com/poster/

    Liked by 1 person

  33. I saw a posting about Halifax Pop Explosion this morning as well and thought wouldn’t that be nice. Halifax is a city I want to get back to. I had a brief visit in 83 and haven’t been back since. I even considered moving there a few years ago.

    Like

  34. Pop Explosion seems to have a really be solid organization running it now, it’s grown a lot since I lived there but it’s still very Halifax scaled. I’ve only ever had great times during HPX. It would be interesting to try and get the timing of the annual visit home and the pop explosion to line up.
    I’d definitely recommend it to anyone that is even half considering it.

    Like

  35. @loweeda… I still think John Richards and Grant should have beers… would be a total indie music geek fest for sure. We could all have beers together with them! Say they each meet halfway in Bellingham?

    Like

  36. @justin: beers with John Richards and Grant! Wouldn’t that be a great night? I bet those guys would have stories to tell, and I’d love to hear them

    @Tom: alas, the Sappyfest trip is not happening, because my mom fell and broke her knee (she’s fine, but still, I’d feel super-bad going on a trip when she can’t even get around) and then everyone else ended up cancelling, too (there was a sick cat involved, among other things). So maybe HPX would give us the East Coast fix we’re missing now!

    Like

  37. @loweeda – Aww. That’s too bad Sappyfest isn’t happening for you. And sorry about your mom’s knee too. Ouch.

    Like

  38. MoSoFest in Toontown is a club hopping festival, too

    it was pretty good this year.
    the issue with those ones is there’s ALWAYS some overlap where you can’t see everyone you want to see

    Like

  39. huh, so usually if Adblock is causing issues, the site will pop up something saying “hey, we see you have an adblocker running”

    Like

  40. Garf, 12:30 – that’s some great archival work you do there. It was interesting seeing those charts.

    Loweeda – ah, that sucks, double. Shit. Sorry to hear that, on both counts! But way she goes eh. The east coast isn’t going anywhere and if you were to go to HPX, Octobers are usually quite lovely. Unless a hurricane blows through, then it can get a little wet. But it wouldn’t be a trip to the east coast if it didn’t piss rain on you at least once.

    Like

  41. @krib, not always. The site has to be specially programmed to detect AdBlock. Sometimes things just silently fail. And you can check what AdBlock is blocking, or just turn it off for the current site and reload the page.

    Like

  42. @tom: I guess if a hurricane passed through anywhere it could be a little unpleasant. Way she goes, eh? 😉 You’re right, tho–the east coast isn’t going anywhere. We’ll get there sometime–maybe with you as a tour guide!

    Thanks, @darbar. It’s hard to keep my mom down, so I’m sure she’ll be back to normal soon.

    Like

  43. @krib – I was really hoping to get to MoSo. Maybe next year! Dawson City Folk Fest is high on my fests I would like to get to as well. Mostly for location but it sounds like a good festival too.

    Like

  44. OK, I’m gonna listen to all those songs that tiffy posted now.

    (I guess I don’t have to tell you what I’m doing but I just did anyway)

    Like

  45. I wish Dawson City Music Fest was those dates but in the month of August, then I would be able to make it.

    Like

  46. @garfielduk I would totally be game to cover events with you at Indie Music Week in Europe … and submit receipts to The ceeb! Is it likely you will go even without the expense account?

    Like

  47. the power keeps going out and I am trying to warm a pie to serve with tea. Guests to arrive shortly and it is pissing rain. So much for sitting in the garden
    😦

    Like

  48. I hope to meet up with Liz when she is in Regina and then again in Winnipeg for Interstellar Rodeo.

    Like

  49. Interstellar Rodeo: bucking you across the universe

    Featuring that galactic greased pig, Shrodinger’s Hog.

    Like

  50. Tha galactic greased pig: yet another reason why the seasoned hitchhiker carries a towel.

    Like

  51. pie and tea eaten and guests gone.
    seems we are talking about lubed up swine here …. i feel like l miss a page somewhere!

    Like

  52. @funhug nice, glad you had a chance to catch up with her.
    hey, it is Dales Birthday today and the last time I saw you and Liz plus many others was with @deiru!

    Like

  53. KRIB IS TUMBLIN’ TUMBLEWEED!
    TUMBLIN’ TUMBLEWEED IS KRIB!
    Did the rest of you know this already?!

    I’ve had a lovely day. Now for some last minute cleaning so it looks like I’ve done something productive.
    Nightie night:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

