Canadian indie fights cancer

By Nick Jean

It seems 2016 is the year of the epic tour. As we previously announced, Lauren Mann is working on a 50-date tour with stops literally all across the country. Not to be outdone, Arkells have released a massive slew of dates.

Over the next six months, the Hamilton rockers will be making 31 stops in six provinces, 13 states and stints overseas in Britain and Germany. (See the end of this post for the full schedule.) And as if that weren’t enough, they kicked it all off with a private show earlier this month. This wasn’t just any old house show, however.

The recipients were the friends and family of 18-year-old Jill Zitars (as well as Zitars herself, of course.) Zitars is partway through her treatment for stage two Hodgkin’s lymphoma. July 6 was supposed to be her halfway point for treatment. Instead, doctors informed her things weren’t going quite as planned and they would need to reassess. The Waterloo, Ont., teen was understandably quite shaken by the news.

In an attempt to lift her spirits, her friend Kristin Kelly reached out to Arkells over Snapchat, explaining the situation and asking them to pay a visit. Three members of the band – Max Kerman, Mike DeAngelis and Anthony Carone – did just that, performing an acoustic backyard set for Zitars.

“I was so shocked and overjoyed at the same time,” Zitars told CBC of the event. “My friends were amazing.”


Tour Dates
07.23.2016 – Oro-Medonte, Ontario – WayHome Music Festival
07.24.2016 – Colwood, British Columbia – Rock The Shores
07.28.2016 – Chicago, Illinois – Grant Park – Lollapalooza
& Bottom Lounge – Official Lollapalooza Aftershow w/ The Struts
07.30.2016 – New Glasgow, Nova Scotia – The Riverfront Jubilee
08.01.2016 – St. Johns, Newfoundland – George Street Festival
08.06.2016 – Regina, Saskatchewan – Queen City Ex
08.21.2016 – Leipzig, Saxony – Highfield Festival in Grosspösna, Germany
08.23.2016 – London, Middlesex – Lexington
08.25.2016 – Ubersee, Bavaria – Chiemsee Summer Festival
09.03.2016 – Edmonton, Alberta – Borden Park – SONiC BOOM
09.04.2016 – Calgary, Alberta – Fort Calgary – X FEST
09.09.2016 – Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario – Jackson Triggs Theatre
09.15.2016 – New York, New York – Studio At Webster Hall
09.23.2016 – Reading, Pennsylvania – Reverb – w/ Frank Turner
09.27.2016 – Champaign, Illinois – The Accord – w/ Frank Turner
09.28.2016 – St. Louis, Missouri – The Ready Room – w/ Frank Turner
09.29.2016 – Maquoketa, Iowa – Codfish Hollow Barnstormers – w/ Frank Turner
09.30.2016 – Milwaukee, Wisconsin – The Rave / Eagles Club – w/ Frank Turner
10.01.2016 – Kalamazoo, Michigan – Bell’s Eccentric Cafe – w/ Frank Turner
10.27.2016 – Athens, Georgia – The Georgia Theatre – w/ Frank Turner
10.28.2016 – Charlottesville, Virginia – Jefferson Theatre – w/ Frank Turner
10.29.2016 – Morgantown, West Virginia – Mainstage – w/ Frank Turner
10.30.2016 – Norfolk, Virginia – The NorVa – w/ Frank Turner
10.31.2016 – Wilmington, Delaware – World Cafe Live @ The Queen – w/ Frank Turner
11.02.2016 – Clifton Park, New York – Upstate Concert Theatre – w/ Frank Turner
11.03.2016 – Ithaca, New York – The Haunt – w/ Frank Turner
11.11.2016 – Detroit, Michigan – Magic Bag
11.12.2016 – Chicago, Illinois – Subterranean
12.09.2016 – Buffalo, New York – The Town Ballroom
12.10.2016 – Buffalo, New York – The Town Ballroom

95 thoughts on “Canadian indie fights cancer

  1. Oh man, all those dates the Arkells are doing with Frank Turner are making me jealous. I love Frank Turner, and with the Arkells! Damn, that’d be a show.

    Like

  2. And looking at that list of tour dates, and the places they’re playing. They know exactly they’re doing.

    Making it happen. Good for them.

    Like

  3. Hi!
    Been busy. Great post but I don’t understand why Maynooth was left off the tour list?!
    😉

    Like

  4. Very hot and steamy here in the Peg for the next few days. You’ll be able to find me hiding in the basement : (

    Like

  5. Oh I forgot they were playing Queen City Ex. I will be at Folk Fest with Sam Roberts that night.

    Like

  6. @reginula – I have the app ready to go and Squirtle in my Pokedex. I even ventured to the pokestop a block away but that is all that I have done so far. We were trying to get it to work on the old iPad for Devin but had some trouble making his account. We will try again today.

    Like

  7. Good morning, everyone. Another day in paradise here in Sacramento. Another “below 90F” day here today! But come the weekend, we’re back over 100º, that is typical for the area.

    Like

  8. Darbar,
    I saw that Arkells are playing the same weekend of folk fest. I don’t recall the Ex and RFF usually end up on the same weekend?

    Like

  9. @Darbs Hi! I totally screwed up with the first pokemon, didn’t know the three appeared in the beginning, so I got stuck with a Bulbasaur. A Charmander just came out of an egg tho! Hope the iPad works! Also, have you tried using the inciense? It lures pokemon into wherenever you are.

    (Also, I saw your comment on Hamilton last night. Yeah, seeing it is not easy, but you’d be surprised how many people are crazy about it despite knowing they may never see it. That was me for a looong time until I just saw the chance and literally emptied my bank account. It’s a mindblowing rap album anyway, and the creators love putting out stuff (like the book) for people to have a piece of it)

    Like

  10. @Shonica – I remember it happening another year as well but they usually are different weekends.

    Like

  11. @reginula – I will have to check it out more for sure. I would prefer your Canadian version though. 😉

    Like

  12. I gotta run. We are going to be late for Devin’s iron infusion appointment. Later kids!

    Like

  13. FYI, we have a better thing for Groundhog day here. We have huge tamales parties. If I were stuck in that day, I wouldn’t mind.
    Anyway, how are you doing?

    Like

  14. Haha. I meant the Bill Murray movie, but that day sounds amazing. I’m well. Just prepping for Gateway in a couple of days and trying to wrap up some day job work before holidays.

    Like

  15. @LV Yeah, I got that, sorry if I mixed things up. Imagine a Bill Murray movie with him trapped in our tamales day! It would be cool. Very nice work on the Gateway lineup, as usual. It’s going to be amazing!

    Like

  16. Air Transat isn’t always bad, but when it’s bad it’s BAD.

    Hey Russ, I like the sound of that. Is the parking lot full of racoon yet like everywhere else in London?

    Like

  17. I have yet to see a raccoon.

    Also, my cousins were very surprised when I told them that raccoons aren’t friendly, Disney style.

    Like

  18. I flew with Air Transat last summer and the flight crew was, to the best of my knowledge, sober.

    Like

  19. Steve Knox, you London lunatic.

    (PS. I was missing London bigtime last weekend. Home County regrets! I’m glad you and the other Kramdens–and the R3 folks in attendance–had a good time)

    Like

  20. Right now, as a nod to the old times, I’m listening to The Kramdens first album. Gosh, so neat to hear Craig again! Thanks, Stevie!!

    Like

  21. so, which Pikes’ song was it, anyway? I got doing other stuff yesterday and didn’t check in again

    Like

  22. I’m amazed Stampeders are playing Gateway. I didn’t know they were still playing.
    Wish I could get down there for it

    Like

  23. Old Abe: it’s not even raining here right now, but it’s cloudy and a little windy and the weather has that “something might happen” feeling, like before an impending storm, you know? Thanks for thinking of me!

    Like

  24. It is really hot outside which means I am wearing a sweater and have a space heater on.

    Like

  25. Hey everyone! I at the hospital again. My Step Mom just went in for another surgery, a complication due to her cancer treatment. I am praying (and more) she’ll emerge ok. I’m in the waiting room.

    Like

  26. @justin – Not fun! My thoughts are with you and positive vibes sent her way. *hugs*

    Like

  27. Sending a lot of hugs your way, Justin. We’re here for you if you need to talk or anything.

    Like

  28. Hi again! What a snitty kitty I’ve been today. Hiss.
    So sorry to hear about your Step Mom @JG, sending what pisitivity I can rally!

    Like

  29. Nothing that we didn’t know earlier, but

    “The Associated Press ‏@AP 2m2 minutes ago
    BREAKING: The Republican Party formally nominates Donald Trump for president.”

    O_O

    Like

  30. heading out to catch Pokemon. And home
    Comforting myself with the fact that Hillary has better chances, or that politicians rarely do anything, or that Trump would be to busy to think of bombing us, Hitler style or whatever

    Like

  31. I sent him a message last week on FB but haven’t heard back. I haven’t been here much so didn’t know he was MIA.

    Like

  32. Arkells aren’t stopping here, case/lang/veirs are barely even performing in canada let alone in my wee town and i have backed out of my volunteer shifts with the kasha jazz etc festival. sad days for my ears right now.

    Like

  33. Hi Garf! Dang sleep getting or lack of it getting in the way.

    @morgana – Aww sorry for your ears.

    Like

Leave a comment